Entry Form

Bert van Bedaf Award, Short Story & Poetry

Click either button to download entry form as PDF or Word Doc



$500 Up For Grabs
A little over 11 years ago, my then friend and college at The Star Newspaper, Bert van Bedaf came up with the idea of a writer’s festival to be held at Coal Creek. I was in the advertising dept at the time and became part of the first organizing committee, to put together advertising and a web site. 11 years later I still seem to be there.
From the beginning, part of the festival was the writing and poetry competitions. From Primary School picture books, Secondary School and Open sections in both short story and poetry.
The standard in all sections has always been very high, and over the years entries have been coming from all over Australia. Bert was a driving force behind getting these competitions going, and served as a judge for the open short story section.
Late in 2009 Bert began feeling ill, and it was later discovered that he had cancer. His dream of publishing a collection of his own short stories became a reality when  “Ghosts and Angels, The Boswachter Miracle and other Mysteries” was completed and printed in late 2010. The book launch was held at the 2010 Coal Creek Literary Festival to a packed room.
Although looking frail, Bert was on a high all day, enjoying the opportunity to speak about his book and getting the whole project together, and taking part in the panel discussions at the end of the festival.  Not long after, Bert lost his fight with cancer.
When it came time to start organizing the Literary Festival for 2011, the decision was made to do something in memory of Bert. The open short story competition had a name change to The Bert van Bedaf Short Story Award. To go with the name change, the prize money went from $200 to $500.
The competition is on again this year, with $500 up for grabs for this year’s best short story.
Entry forms are available from the Coal Creek web site, or by phoning Coal Creek on 5655 1811
In memory of Bert,

Gavin Van Eede, Coal Creek Literary Festival Committee